DAWN – ToniMay SS11/12

This girl knows how to make jewellery. Local lady Laura Byrne is the lover and creator behind ToniMay. We’ve been a big fan of her stuff for quite a while now and seeing her new collection has made us fall in love with her even more. DAWN has been released just in time for the sunny days ahead and we just had to share her story with you.

* How did ToniMay come about?

ToniMay is a labor of love and has been very organic in its evolution. My mother was a trained Silver Smith, so I have always been surrounded by beautiful jewellery. It’s an obsession of mine; I guess you could say it’s in my blood.

* Tell us about ToniMay’s latest collection. What’s your inspiration?

My latest collection is called DAWN.

I thought the name dawn was fitting as it is the beginning of something new, a new day, and new opportunities. It also gives connotations to rebirth and awakening.

DAWN is a beautiful mixture of rutilated quartz crystals, semi precious stones, creamy leathers and exotic feathers. The designs are very raw and organic, as I wanted to highlight the intricacies of the natural materials.

There is also a quirky side to the range which plays with colour and contrast.

* Can you tell us what you will be working on next? Do you intend to branch out into more accessories ie: bags, hats, shoes?

I’m constantly working on new designs, experimenting with different materials and concepts. I’m currently working on a series of rings which will be available in the New Year.

As for branching out into other types of accessories, it’s not out of the question, but right now the focus is very much on the jewellery. ToniMay is all about providing beautifully handcrafted designs that push the boundaries between fashion and fine jewellery.

To me there is something very intimate about jewellery, especially that which is handmade.  Unlike clothing you can wear the same piece of jewellery everyday and never take it off. I have this romantic idea that it becomes a part of you, a part of your identity.

 * If you weren’t doing jewellery, what would you be doing?

Travelling the world with a sketch pad.

 * My style influences are…

I know it’s a rather stock response, but I love Kate Moss. I always have, and always will. She is just so effortlessly beautiful. Even the whole ‘I have been partying for five days straight look’ is glamorous on her.

I am also a huge fan of Daria Werbowy, those eyes, that wardrobe…sigh.

* I am infatuated with…

Crime shows. My boyfriend is forever teasing me about my addiction to NCIS.

 * When I grew up I wanted to be….

Married to Taylor Hanson *hangs head in shame

 * To unwind after a hard day’s work I like to

Swim in the Ocean, eat cheese and drink wine with my wonderful girlfriends

* Right now, I’m listening to…

Peaches – Talk To Me….  iTunes shuffle has a mind of it’s own.

 * My biggest indulgence in life is …  

Cheese and wine

 * My nickname is…

RA-RAAA. Although I don’t know if it is so much a Nickname, or more my alter ego.

 * If you had a dinner party and had to put one persons name on the list that definitely was not allowed in, who would it be? And why?

I don’t know his name, but I’m going to go with the homeless man on Oxford St, who threw a pizza at me. Fool me once, or so they say.

To be the first one prancing around in ToniMay newbies, please email Laura at laura@tonimay.com.au

Like? Like here then.

Want more? Go crazy here.

Whatcha think?

